IMCA Creates New Award, Calls for Nominations

Issue date: 
Thursday, August 21, 2014
Contact name: 
Ryan Hoffman
Contact number: 
+1 (303) 850-3079
Contact Email: 

IMCA Announces New Annual Award for 2015 Conference
Nominations sought for three prestigious awards

DENVER—Investment Management Consultants Association® (IMCA®) is calling for nominations for three awards honoring leaders in investment consulting and wealth management.

Nominations will be accepted until Sept. 30, 2014, for the Matthew R. McArthur Industry Pioneer Award; the Richard J. Davis Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Insight Award; and the new J. Richard Joyner Wealth Management Impact Award. Winners will be announced at IMCA’s annual conference, to be held in Las Vegas, April 26–29, 2015.

J. Richard Joyner Wealth Management Impact Award

The J. Richard Joyner Wealth Management Impact Award is a new award for 2015. It honors individuals who have contributed exceptional advancements in the field of private wealth management, which is embodied by IMCA’s Certified Private Wealth Advisor® (CPWA®) program. The award recognizes key innovations and thought leadership in any of the following CPWA knowledge domains: human dynamics (behavioral economics and family dynamics); wealth management strategies (tax, portfolio, risk management, and asset protection); client specialization (closely held business owners, executives, retirement); and legacy planning (charitable and estate planning).

Matthew R. McArthur Industry Pioneer Award

The Matthew R. McArthur Industry Pioneer Award honors individuals who have made an outstanding contribution and demonstrated commitment to the field of investment consulting, including contributions to industry specific technology or to advances in the advisor skill set. The individual does not have to be a current or previously practicing investment consultant.

Richard J. Davis Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Insight Award

The Richard J. Davis Ethics, Legal, and Regulatory Insight Award honors the author(s) of a written work (e.g., article, paper, book) published in 2014 that has made a significant contribution to advancing the understanding and knowledge of investment management consulting and/or private wealth management in the area of ethics, and/or the fiduciary, legal, or regulatory issues that affect these professional practices. The relevant legal and regulatory regimes include, but are not limited to, the Investment Advisers Act of 1940, the Employee Retirement Income Security Act (ERISA), the Uniform Prudent Investor Act, the Uniform Management of Institutional Funds Act, and the Uniform Prudent Management of Institutional Funds Act.

In addition to the three awards open to IMCA members and public nomination, IMCA will also confer two other awards selected by IMCA committees, the Edward D. Baker III Journal Research Award, honoring the author(s) of an original article published in the Journal of Investment Consulting; and the Stephen L. Kessler Writing Award, honoring the author(s) of the best original articles written by IMCA members and published in Investments & Wealth Monitor. For more information, visit


Nominations will be accepted through Sept. 30, 2014. Nominations should specify which category the nomination is for and include a brief letter outlining why the nominee is deserving. Please include the name and contact information of the nominee as well as the nominator. Nominations may be e-mailed to [email protected] or mailed to IMCA Awards Coordinator, Investment Management Consultants Association, 5619 DTC Parkway, Ste. 500, Greenwood Village, CO 80111.